2020 and my Journey in Quarantine

2020 and my Journey in Quarantine

·

3 min read

Before the Quarantine

Back at the end of 2019, like every other years, my mind was flowing with a rush of motivation, that the following year would be my year, and that I would accomplish many goals and change my world.

But unlike the other years, it wasn't just a new year, it was also a new decade.

I knew that some goals could not be accomplished in a year, but it would be definitely possible in a decade. So my mind shifted to a more long term goals.

s-o-c-i-a-l-c-u-t-6iYb1BWWbV0-unsplash.jpg Photo by S O C I A L . C U T on Unsplash

At beginning of 2020, I finally got my diploma after 2 years of studying web development.
However the very next day, the company I worked for as an intern decided to what we call in France "Rupture conventionnelle".

I didn't get fired and I wasn't leaving on my own.

In short, what it means, is that the company and me as the employee, both negotiate an agreement to the conditions with which I am leaving the company.

However, even though I did not enjoy working with that company, that I wasn't going to stay long term anyway, and that I agreed on leaving the company.

Somehow, I really felt like I got fired.

nik-shuliahin-BuNWp1bL0nc-unsplash.jpg Photo by Nik Shuliahin on Unsplash

Well, What am I going to do now ?

Fortunately, I didn't wait too long before getting another job and ended up in a better company than the previous one.

Sometimes, It's a blessing in disguise

However, another thing happened. The COVID-19. And it wasn't long before the whole country in France was in quarantine.

During the quarantine

So, despite the terrible event that is happening, however, I decided to look it in another way.

  • I feel very fortunate to work in a field where physical presence is not required
  • I don't have to spend time on the road to get to work
  • Since I don't spend time on the road, that time is spent doing something else like exercising, taking online courses to improve my skills, or other things
  • Another good thing about online courses, is that some courses are discounted, or the current monthly subscription is free or some courses are even made free, which is awesome 🤩
  • I get to spend more time with my familly
  • I have a better idea of how it feels like working remote

Conclusion

There are some messages that I want to pass on.

  1. No matter how big your goals are, or how much motivated you can be, you will always face obstacles, and sometimes unexpected one. Like anything, there will always be some ups and downs. But it doesn't matter, because...
  2. Sometimes, It's a blessing in disguise.
  3. During hard times, it can be helpful to get through if you view it from another perspective.
  4. You cannot always control what happens to you, but you can always control what you do about it.

sydney-rae-geM5lzDj4Iw-unsplash.jpg Photo by sydney Rae on Unsplash

Thank you for reading this post. If you found it useful let me know in the comments section.
And don't forget to leave a reaction, it means a lot to me.

Photo cover by Jessica Lewis on Unsplash